2019 AAG Leadership Symposium I Promoting Diversity in Geography: Strategies to Improve Inclusion, Broaden Participation, and Assess Progress

Type: Panel
Sponsor Groups: Harassment-Free AAG Initiative, Harassment-Free AAG Initiative
Poster #:
Day: 4/4/2019
Start / End Time: 8:00 AM / 9:40 AM (Eastern Standard Time)
Room: Delaware A, Marriott, Lobby Level
Organizers: Shannon O'Lear, Kenneth Foote
Chairs: Kenneth Foote


The 2019 AAG Leadership Symposium will focus on "Promoting Diversity in Geography: Strategies to Improve Inclusion, Broaden Participation, and Assess Progress."

Although listed in the meeting program as two separate panels, the two have been organized together as a single event to allow ample time for presentations, panel discussions, and small group breakouts.

The focus will be on sharing practices to program coordinators, chairs, and interested faculty to develop, expand, or plan for diversity initiatives. Diversity will be considered broadly to include gender, race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, (dis)abilities, and other dimensions of inclusion. Topics will include recruitment and retention of undergraduates, graduates, and faculty who are underrepresented in the discipline or in the institutions of the participants. Participants will share experiences in developing and implementing departmental diversity plans, integrating diversity goals within strategic plans, and incorporating diversity into program assessments.

The annual leadership symposia are offered as a means of providing time for department leaders to meet and share strategies during the annual meeting, but the symposia are open to all interested meeting participants. The session is particularly well suited for individuals who may soon assume leadership positions and would like to network with other chairs and leaders.


Type Details Minutes
Introduction Shannon O'Lear University of Kansas 10
Discussant Kenneth Foote University of Connecticut 10
Panelist Sophonie Bazile UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY 20
Panelist Patricia SolĂ­s Arizona State University 20
Panelist Sandy Wong Florida State University 20
Panelist Yongmei Lu Texas State University 20

To access contact information login