Jeanne X. Kasperson Award Winners

Type: Paper
Sponsor Groups: Hazards, Risks, and Disasters Specialty Group
Poster #:
Day: 4/4/2019
Start / End Time: 1:10 PM / 2:50 PM (Eastern Standard Time)
Room: Maryland A, Marriott, Lobby Level
Organizers: Eric Tate
Chairs: Eric Tate


Session featuring the five winners of the 2019 Jeanne X. Kasperson Award, the student paper competition for the Hazards, Risk, and Disasters Specialty Group.


Type Details Minutes Start Time
Presenter Aaron Flores*, University of Utah, Department of Geography, Timothy W Collins, University of Utah, Department of Geography, Sara E Grineski, University of Utah, Department of Sociology, Jayajit Chakraborty, University of Texas at El Paso, Department of Sociology & Anthropology, Disparities in Health Impacts and Access to Care among Houston Area Residents in Hurricane Harvey 20 1:10 PM
Presenter Pam Rittelmeyer*, University of California - Santa Cruz, Meanings behind perceptions: Flood Risk and Management of the California Delta Levee System 20 1:30 PM
Presenter Tom Logan*, University of Michigan, Seth Guikema, University of Michigan, Jeremy Bricker, Technical University of Delft, Neglecting behavioral feedbacks in quantitative risk assessment can lead to maladaptation to natural hazards 20 1:50 PM
Presenter Kirsten Goldstein*, Utah State University, Peter Howe, Utah State University, Thermal sensations and risk perceptions of extreme heat among outdoor recreation visitors 20 2:10 PM
Presenter Yago Martin Gonzalez*, University of South Carolina, Susan Lynn Cutter, Hazards and Vulnerability Research Institute, University of South Carolina, Tracking the Disruption of Hurricane Maria on Population Flows in Puerto Rico Through Geotagged Tweets. 20 2:30 PM

To access contact information login