Nystrom Award

Type: Virtual Panel
Sponsor Groups:
Poster #:
Day: 4/8/2021
Start / End Time: 11:10 AM / 12:25 PM (PDT)
Room: Virtual 26
Organizers: The American Association of Geographers
Chairs: Candida Mannozzi


J. Warren Nystrom Award

A fund established by former AAG Executive Director J. Warren Nystrom supports an annual prize for a paper based upon a recent dissertation in geography. Papers must be presented at the upcoming AAG Annual Meeting.

Eligibility for this competition is restricted to AAG members who have received the PhD degree since April 1, 2018 and who have been members of the AAG for 2018, 2019 and 2020.
Aiello, Daniela: "A colonial genealogy of eviction: racialized dispossession in Atlanta and Vancouver"

Li, Ziqi: "Computational Improvements to Multiscale Geographically Weighted Regression"

Terbeck, Fabian: "The Suburbanization of Poverty and Minority Populations: Two parallel or interrelated processes?"


John Warren Nystrom was a graduate of Clark University in Worcester, Mass., where he received his Doctor of Philosophy in Geography in 1942. Warren was an exceptional educator and professor of geography for many years at Rhode Island College, University of Pittsburgh, George Washington University, and Florida Atlantic University. Beyond academia, Dr. Nystrom had a long and productive career in international relations as a senior official in the Foreign Policy Department at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, a partner in the international relations consulting firm of Allen, Murden and Nystrom, a Senior Fellow at The Brookings Institution. He also represented the United States at UNESCO, the United Nations’ educational, scientific, and cultural organization. Nystrom was Executive Director of the Association of American Geographers from 1966-1979. He received AAG Honors and published a number of geography textbooks and periodicals on U.S. relations with the European Community, Canada and Latin America.


Type Details Minutes Start Time
Panelist Daniela Aiello University of Georgia 15 11:10 AM
Panelist Ziqi Li University Of Illinois, Urbana Champain - Urbana, IL 15 11:25 AM
Panelist Fabian Terbeck University of Connecticut 15 11:40 AM
Nystrom Committee Member Fernando Bosco San Diego State University 1 11:55 AM
Nystrom Committee Member Alexander Hohl University of Utah 1 11:56 AM
Nystrom Committee Member Kate Derickson University of Minnesota 1 11:57 AM

To access contact information login